Morgan named new Secretary of State for DCMS

25 July 2019

Nicky Morgan MP has been appointed as the new Secretary of State for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport, in one of a series of Cabinet changes after Boris Johnson took over as Prime Minister of the UK.

Morgan, who was elected Conservative MP for Loughborough in 2010, was most recently Education Secretary and Minister for Women and Equalities from July 2014 until July 2016.

Prior to this, Morgan served as Financial Secretary to the Treasury and Minister for Women from April until July 2014, while she also spent time as Economic Secretary to the Treasury.

In addition Morgan had a spell as an Assistant Whip in the coalition government that the Conservative Party shared with the Liberal Democrats.

Morgan replaces Jeremy Wright MP, who has now left the Cabinet as part of the reshuffle overseen by the new Prime Minister. Johnson came to power yesterday (July 24), replacing Theresa May after winning an in-party election against former Foreign Secretary Jeremy Hunt.

The Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport is responsible for a range of sectors and industries, such as gambling and racing, sport, the National Lottery and telecommunications and online.